First Born

As of January 30, 2014 (which was this past Thursday) I became a proud mother of a 5-year-old little girl. Yes, I do have other children but I just wanted to share my thoughts about how I really feel. Now I’m not the eldest of my parents 7 kids but I can remember how my siblings and I would envy our brother (which was my mother’s first-born) because he had more immunity than we had (so I thought). I can’t speak for the rest of my siblings but I can say that now I slightly understand  why my parents made some of the choses they made. I’m not completely sure why nor have I asked them but the first-born, in my opinion are entitled to certain things and of course I wasn’t a parent back then so I didn’t understand. First borns are the children that we as parents make the most mistakes with. Sounds bad I know but its true. It doesn’t matter if we decide to have more children afterwards, they are usually the children that we get the most practice out of. I.E. when I went into labor I didn’t know what to expect. Regardless of how many stories I had heard or seen on television nothing prepared me for that pain. So by the time I became pregnant with the twins I knew what to expect and I have my daughter to thank for that. Honestly, my labor was much better with the twins than with my daughter. Anyway, her first cold, first bath, first cut, first day of school, etc. are all examples of things I didn’t know anything about until her. And I’m sure all parents feel that way about their eldest child. So I owe my eldest a lot because she did for me what nobody else could, and that’s teaching me how to be a mother for the children I had after her. When she’s old enough to understand I’m going to let her know how much I appreciate the fact that she came first because she deserves it. Her making it to her 5th birthday was a huge milestone for me. One short step down a long road and she’s worth it.

 

2 comments on “First Born

  1. kateywrites says:

    Well said. My eldest is 8 and she teaches me new things every day. I thought I knew a lot about children and parenting, but you never really know something til you live it. Having kids is the hardest and most rewarding education I can imagine.

Leave a Reply

